Lapland Overview
Lapland is a beautifully picturesque region in northern Europe mostly north of the Arctic Circle. Lapland spans across four countries: Finland, Norway, north Sweden and Russia, and is traditionally thought to be the home of Father Christmas!
Western Lapland is an area of fjords, deep valleys, glaciers, and mountains; the highest point being Mount Kebnekaise in Swedish Lapland. Further east, the terrain is low and flat with many marshes and lakes; the largest being Lake Inari in Finnish Lapland.
The province of Lapland has eighteen regions: EnontekiöInari, Keminmaa, Kittilä, Kolari, Muonio, Pelkosenniemi, PelloPosio, Province de Rovaniemi, Ranua, Salla, Savukoski, Simo, Sodankylä, Tervola, Utsjoki, Ylitornio; with Lapland’s major cities being Rovaniemi, Kemi, Tornio and Kemijarvi. The native inhabitants of these Lapland provinces and cities are called the ‘Sami people’ who hold a dual identity with the region of Lapland and their individual country of residence (either Finland, Norway, Sweden or Russia).